Navy Cross

The Navy Cross is the highest medal that can be awarded by the Department of the Navy and the second highest award given for valor. It is normally only awarded to members of the United States Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard but could be awarded to all branches of United States military as well as members of foreign militaries. It was established by Act of Congress (Pub.L. 65-253) and approved on February 4, 1919. The Navy Cross is equivalent to the Distinguished Service Cross (Army) and the Air Force Cross.

Purple heart

The Purple Heart is a United States military decoration awarded in the name of the President to those who have been wounded or killed while serving on or after April 5, 1917 with the U.S. military. The National Purple Heart Hall of Honor is located in New Windsor, New York. The original idea for the Purple Heart (the Badge of Military Merit) is the oldest symbol and award that is still given to members of the U.S. military, surpassed in history only by the long obsolete Fidelity Medallion.

Combat action ribbon

The Combat Action Ribbon (CAR) is a personal military decoration of the United States Navy and United States Marine Corps which is awarded to those who, in any grade including and below that of a Captain in the Navy (or Colonel in the Marine Corps), have actively participated in ground or surface combat.

Irag campaign medal

The Iraq Campaign Medal became available for general distribution in June 2005. The decoration is awarded to any member of the U.S. military who has performed duty within the borders of Iraq (or its territorial waters) for a period of thirty consecutive days or sixty non-consecutive days.

Good Conduct medal

The Good Conduct Medal is awarded to any enlisted member of the United States military who completes three consecutive years of "honorable and faithful service". Such service implies that a standard enlistment was completed without any non-judicial punishments, disciplinary infractions, or court martial offenses. If a service member commits an offense, the three-year mark "resets" and a service member must perform an additional three years of service without having to be disciplined, before the Good Conduct may be authorized.

National defense service medal

The National Defense Service Medal is awarded to anyone who serves on active duty in the United States military during the above time periods. For service in the Gulf War and War on Terrorism, a one time only exception, was also authorized for members of the Army Reserve or National Guard ordered to active duty or who were performing "reserve service in good standing".

Sea Service Deployment Ribbon

A Sea Service Ribbon is an award of the United States Navy, United States Coast Guard and the United States Army which recognizes those service members who have performed military duty while stationed on a vessel at sea.

Civilian Awards

Southampton Town Police Department Badge


 Sag Harbor Police Department Gold Badge.

Suffolk County Medal for Distinguished Military Service

On 28 August 2014 a Mess Hall was dedicated to honor
Cpl Jonathan T. Yale and LCpl Jordan Haerter

We Will Always Remember You


 Who gave without a word;
Defending us with honor,
So gallantly they served.

For every boy who left his home,
Returning there a man;
And every woman who made a choice,
To make serving part of her plan.

For every fallen soldier,
Who gave all they could give;
To guarantee our liberty,
And the freedom that we live.

Each one who served with honor,
The brave, the tried, the true;
America gives it thanks today,
For we see a hero in you.

Allison Chambers Coxsey